The “still between semesters” Book List

Students are back in school, but I’m still between semesters, so I thought I’d squeeze in a list of books. If you’re wondering how books are chosen for this list, you can read about it here.

The first book was described as “this is SUCH a good book!” by readers. It’s a coming-of-age story about life in a tough neighborhood. It’s also about friendship and family–it has all the good stuff. I read it as well and would recommend it. It’s probably for mature 12 year old readers and up, especially those who love basketball. Though anyone can read it, boys might especially enjoy it. The main character is a young man, and he has a girlfriend (who is a strong secondary character in the book). The young man talks “admiringly” about the girlfriend (but, he is also respectful and kind). Just so you know.

Boy 21 Boy 21

The next couple of books were enjoyed by many readers. The first two are graphic novels (always a hit with our reluctant readers). Many students read Nimona 2-3 times, so it must be good. I haven’t read it yet, but I will. I love graphic novels. The next was written by Brian Selznick, who brought us The Invention of Hugo Cabret and Wonderstruck. The next two novels were brought to my attention in a search for historical fiction books with strong female characters. The last novel was added to our collection after the search for historical fiction, but none of the students have read it yet. I’m recommending it anyway because many reviewers I trust also recommended it. I paged through it, and it looks like a pretty quick read. Maybe I’ll tackle it this evening. I’ll let you know.

Nimona Nimona
The Marvels The Marvels
The Stolen One The Stolen One
The True Confessions of Cha... The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle
Fever 1793 Fever 1793

 

This entry was posted in book lists for young readers. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

