Step one–read some stuff

Here’s the first thing I do when I’m confused about something–I read more stuff. I know, I know, the first thing should be ask someone because that is the most logical. But, I like to figure stuff out on my own. Or, at least I like to try and do that first. And then, after I completely frustrate myself, I’ll ask someone.

So, in the interest of finding out more about how my research should be going (instead of how it actually is going), I’d like to read some more about research itself–the act of research. What makes it go, and what is it trying to tell me? I have read many research articles by scholars whose work I admire, so I’m going to try and figure out how those guys got so smart. What kinds of things did they read? Here is the list. I’m going to choose some reading from what is on this list.

From Canary:

Glaser, B. G. (1978). Theoretical sensitivity. Mill Valley, CA: Sociology Press.

Lindlof, T. R., & Taylor, B. C. (2002). Qualitative communication research methods. Thousand Oaks, CA:  Sage.

From Weber and Solomon (breast cancer blogs & bbs)

Glaser, B. G., & Strauss, A. L. (1967). The discovery of grounded theory: Strategies for qualitative research. New York: Aldine.

Strauss, A., & Corbin, J. (1990). Basics of qualitative research: Grounded theory procedures and techniques. Newbury Park, CA: Sage.

Strauss, A., & Corbin, J. (1998). Basics of qualitative research: Techniques and procedures for developing grounded theory (2nd ed.). Newbury Park, CA:  Sage.

From Johnson, Davis, and Cronin (Mexican expats)

Glaser, B. G., & Strauss, A. L. (1967). The discovery of grounded theory: Strategies for qualitative research. New York: Aldine.

Keyton, J. (2006). Communication research: Asking questions, finding answers (2nd ed.). New York: McGraw Hill.

Lindlof, T. R. (1995). Qualitative communication research methods. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage.

From Thompson (syllabus)

Bernard, H. R. (2000). Social research Methods: Qualitative and quantitative approaches. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage.

Creswell, J. W. (2003). Research design: Qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods approaches. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage.

Strauss, A. L., & Corbin, J. M. (1998). Basics of qualitative research: Techniques and procedures for developing grounded theory. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage.

Obviously, I cannot buy and read all of these books. That would be just silly, wouldn’t it? So, I’m going to choose some. If you care to weigh in, any and all recommendations are greatly appreciated.

This entry was posted in school, thesis. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

